Book Club?

A few months ago I wrote a comment about reading Bart Ehrman’s latest book.  A fundy Christian friend of mine commented and soon we were having a discussion on biblical inerrancy.  I suggested we do a mini-book club where we each picked a book.  My pick was Bart Ehrman’s Misquoting Jesus, since I know that many Christians can also appreciate his writing.


There were no more messages except for one asking for my address.  A month later I received a bible in the mail.  Today I received Timothy Jones’ Misquoting Truth, which supposedly debunks Ehrmans volumes of research in a slim paperback.


I guess this the book she chose.
Can I send another suggestion since I was given two?

This family does not have a large budget, so I assume the money for these books came out of their mission fund.  That is a strange feeling.
Are the books supposed to sell their ideas so strongly that my once really close friend not feel like she needs to talk about them with me?
Did anyone else think that the words of the Bible had a strong enough magic that sending someone a bible would make them think like you?

First picture credits to Amazon
Lat picture credit to Emebe via Yunix in Magic books wikia

4 thoughts on “Book Club?

  1. Ahab says:

    Hmm. Your friend was awfully quick to send you something refuting (or supposedly refuting) Ehrman. Do you know if she has actually read Ehrman’s works?

  2. TWF says:

    I’m sorry, but I find that hilarious. 🙂 Although, I am not keen on someone with limited resources wasting their money like that. But, hey, you can always give them back so that she can send them somewhere else.

    I’d love to read Misquoting Truth, if only for the humor. 😉

    Doesn’t this formerly close friend know your background? You are one of the last people I would think to send a Bible to. I can understand the Misquoting Truth, but the Bible? Really?

    And, no, there aren’t any magic words like that in there, as you know. 🙂

  3. ... Zoe ~ says:

    Sent you a Bible? Is this a good/close friend? 😯

  4. prairienymph says:

    I assume she has read the book. There are many ways to read something, just as there are many ways to ‘listen’.

    This is a friend I met through Bible Quizzing and was once my best friend. We memorized entire books of the Bible together. However, she hasn’t talked to me for years. We have mutual friends that I’ve been more open with that I suspect have shared their concerns about me with her. And as we know, evangelicals think non-evangelicals are ignorant, evidence be damned.

    And yes, I still have a shelf full of bibles, commentaries, and extra-biblical writings.
    I am looking forward to reading Misquoting Truth. The descriptions praising the book have already been entertaining.

Leave a Reply

