Fighting back

Hello those who read here.

I have been in a bit of a slump.  Perhaps an identity crisis or something.  I’m approaching 30 and my oldest baby is now in full time school.

I’ve been wearing make-up lately.  It is something I do when I am feeling down.  The one time I wore a skirt and got “dolled up” for school was the day after the town undertaker drove into me while I was biking (my bike was totaled).   I think dressing fancy will make me feel better but it makes me feel like I’m not me.  I guess that is what I’m going for.

I’ve also been watching tv.  This is something youtube makes possible.  I almost fit in with the mom’s at my kid’s school who look all done up and were recently talking to me about how boring their days are when their kids are at school but how stressful they are when the kids are at home.

This is a bit step just to write something again.  I’m fighting it.  I am also grateful that I have a first world problem and can feel lost and fuzzy while comfortable and well-fed.  My kids are happy and healthy.  I have a plan.  This will be an awesome year.

Thank-you for being part of it.

6 thoughts on “Fighting back

  1. ... Zoe ~ says:

    Sometimes (have experienced a kazillion slumps in my life) (okay over-the-top there a bit, so more like a million slumps) I think the slumps are trying to tell us something and so slumping is a time for listening. Be gentle with yourself.

    Funny you should mention make-up. I was just thinking as I looked in the mirror this morning about trying some make-up. I’ve been in a slump too. Odd that it seems to be that slumps are seen as negatives. Like they are our fault and we can always control them. My wanting make-up probably has more to do with feeling and looking old. *sigh* Anyway, as a woman I can relate.

  2. TWF says:

    I’ve hit slumps too, but they have been less frequent in recent years. I’ve kind of wondered if it is just something that I “need” from time to time. Kind of like when you just need a cat nap to reset your brain, only the slump lasts for an extended period of days or so.

    I’m not sure exactly how it is for you, but for me, I stopped fighting my slumps and just let them happen, but what I actively did do was fight dwelling on the fact that I was in a slump. In one sense, I would allow myself to shut down and retreat a little, but I also would push myself just a little bit to keep up some activity and avoid thinking about being down. I’ve found that this balance has worked well for me in accepting and recovering from slumps.

    I hope you are already coming around! 🙂

  3. prairienymph says:

    Zoe- I think our Inuit people viewed ‘slumps’ as a sign that something needs to change or it is time to move. You have pinpointed my feelings again – I do feel guilty for having down turns as if it were a personal failing.
    If you are interested in make-up, I have done a little research on it starting with harmful chemicals and ending with illusions of light.

    TWF- Good advice. Usually fall brings school and that picks me up after a summer of down time. But, I’m not taking formal classes this fall so I have to look for something else.

Leave a Reply

