Sad Joke

Some people hide sadness behind smiles.  I hide my silliness behind a serious mask.

I only let the silly out when I am very comfortable.  This means I am good at telling jokes that no one recognizes as a joke.  (Or maybe I’m just not that funny.)  It also means I can keep a straight face when I want to burst out laughing.  Which does come in handy.

In a recent conversation with my girls’ Auntie Fun, I asked how her parents were.

“They’re fine,” she answered.

“That’s good to hear.  Last week when I talked to them, they weren’t doing so well.” I replied.

“Oh, well, they are having [various health problems] but that’s all because of [their other daughter-in-law]” I was informed.

My serious mask cracked a little.  “Umm, thats interesting.  A few months ago I was informed that [those same health problems] were all my fault.”

“Well, they still are.”

I valiantly held the laugh bubble inside.  But its coming out now.  Bwahahahaha!

I’m sorry, the reason that certain people I only talk to once every few months are having health problems is only because their daughter-in-laws don’t go to the right church and have pictures of nude babies on our walls?  <snicker>

By the serious look on Auntie Fun’s face I deduced that she wasn’t joking.   Maybe the fear that we will be tormented in a infinite pit of fire is causing enough stress to seriously impact their health.  However, I take no responsibility for them torturing themselves with such unfounded and mythical ideas.

(FYI, their health is still robust enough to travel the world, hike, camp, and be very physically active.  Nothing a little lemon balm tea or rational thinking wouldn’t help; but me pointing that out- wouldn’t help.)

 

6 thoughts on “Sad Joke

  1. TWF says:

    Very well titled post. It’s sad and funny at the same time! 😉 It’s too bad that Auntie Fun isn’t in on the joke.

    Sorry you have to deal with that, but at least you’ve got the mind to find the humor in it.

  2. Quince says:

    Wow, that’s ridiculous. I think it’s probably healthy for you to be able to laugh the criticisms off, good for you!

  3. Jon says:

    I’m with you on this. Sad and hilarious at the same time.

  4. David says:

    i’m not certain why it’s your fault that their bronze age bullshit stresses them out so much…

  5. prairienymph says:

    Ah, unfortunately that bronze age bullshit (fundamentalist Christianity, not to be confused with other forms of Christianity) teaches them it is my fault and encourages them to feel sorry for themselves when we don’t believe it with them. Really, they are just following the character of god in blaming others for any problems in the world.

  6. David says:

    well yes, of course, but it’s not ACTUALLY your fault that they get stressed out over it. and the bronze age bullshit pervades every form of christianity, but yes, the fundies are the worst. and yes, it is just like their god character. the problem is that there are many flaws with their god’s character. and they’ll make excuses for every one of them.

    Sending someone to eternal torture is literally the worst possible thing someone can do to someone else, and these people worship him for it (of course, confront them with this and they’ll say you send yourself, as if it’s possible to choose to go to a place you don’t believe exists). Why would anyone want to believe such a thing? Doesn’t this make God the villain?

Leave a Reply

