I never thought I would…

When I was a fervent fundy Christian, I did not call myself that.  I never thought I would.  I also could never have imagined that one day I would

– be pro-choice for ethical reasons

– look at sex-workers and performers with respect instead of pity.  (I don’t idolize or idealize their work, but I don’t believe it intrinsically immoral.)

– wish I had not waited to have sex before marriage.  (Not that I actively regret it, but if I had to repeat my life, I would not wait so long.)

– see sex as a basic need for some people and therefore their need for facilitation as valid and moral

– find myself a more ethical person without religion than with it

– enjoy a glass of wine now and then with no fear of addiction or debauchery

 

Any surprises you would like to share?

9 thoughts on “I never thought I would…

  1. Ahab says:

    Beautiful, isn’t it? You’ve grown so much since then, and in the process, you’ve found your authentic self. I’m glad that you grew into the person you are today.

    My turn! When I was an ill-informed Catholic, I never imagined that one day I would:

    – Come to see the Bible as a collection of legends, and the Catholic Church as a corrupt good-ol-boys club stuck in the Dark Ages.

    – Be pro-choice AND a volunteer for pro-choice organizations.

    – Not only condone homosexuality, but actively support the LGBT community.

    – Be sexually active before marriage.

    – See people of other religions with acceptance and friendship instead of animosity.

    – Start a blog that criticizes the Religious Right.

    – Officially defect from the Catholic Church.

    – Forge my own path in life, live at peace with myself, and be truly happy.

  2. Kirstin says:

    I particularly agree with you on the sex before marriage thing. Brent and I have talked at length about the “what-if” we’d not “waited.” Many thoughts on the subject.

  3. Quester says:

    I never thought I would:
    – see the Jesus portrayed in the Bible as immoral, and his teachings as destructive.
    – question gender as a binary.
    – attend a pagan ritual.
    – stop seeing myself as worthless, if only occasionally.
    … and so much more!

    • prairienymph says:

      I’m glad you don’t see yourself as worthless all the time. The few times I’ve met you, I’ve felt safer to face sorrow and also laughed a lot. You seem so positive, actually mirthful is a better word. Thank-you for helping me to think things through, but also to laugh and let things go. I hope you are able to do that in your new job too.

  4. ... Zoe ~ says:

    I never thought I’d be an atheist.

  5. Quester says:

    Thank-you, Prairie, for saying that.

Leave a Reply

