Redeeming Pink

I do not like pink.  Ever since my pink overalls that I would pretend to be one of the three little pigs in grew too small, I’ve hated wearing the colour.

I have deep prejudices against it.

Soft pastel pinks mean: weakness, don’t take seriously, stupidity, wishy-washy, and vacancy

Hot pinks (I am a child of the 80s) scream: vanity, shallowness, egoism, using people

Really, it is just a colour, but my associations are strong.  I saw pink as a colour which would restrict me and take away people’s ability to see me as a capable person.  I didn’t want to be patted on the head and not listened to.

Lil’T doesn’t see pink as a restriction, but as a privilege.  Partly this is due to clever advertising and selling two sets of everything to the same parents. 

Partly it is a reflection on changing values of society.  In most cultures, people are sad if they have a girl instead of a boy.  It is embedded in their language as the  Chinese ‘great happiness’ is code for a boy versus the ‘small happiness’ of a girl child. 

However, in our country, most mothers disappointed over the sex of their child wanted a girl. 

It is now ok to celebrate pink without shame. 

Lil’T loves pink because she thinks it is pretty.  She is pretty, so she should wear pretty colours and look even more fabulous. 

I never had that joy in being a girly girl.  I never thought I was a fairy princess, fabulous and just waiting for my wings. 

Part of me is so glad that my girls are able to have that.  Part of me is jealous, and part of me is disgusted, probably because of my learned prejudices.   Mostly I’m glad.

Lil’T loves pink, but she is now willing to share it.  She has conceded that boys are allowed to wear nice colours too and is ok with having the same favourite colour as her youngest uncles.

Pink.  Maybe some day I won’t shudder at it and see it as just beautiful.  Maybe some day, Lil’T will be able to other colours as equally beautiful.

7 thoughts on “Redeeming Pink

  1. Tanya bought me a pink shirt and a new tie. She says I look awesome.

  2. ... Zoe ~ says:

    My husband use to have a sort of denim look pink shirt that he wore with a deep burgundy leather tie. (Back in the 1980’s.) I loved it!

    On me, well, I didn’t go for pink. I liked navy blue! I still like navy blue but I also grew an appreciation for pink as the years went by. I don’t mind it so much now. 🙂

  3. ... Zoe ~ says:

    I use red as an accent colour in my home decorating and in the gardens. As for the navy, I wear a lot of blue jeans. 🙂

  4. Kirstin says:

    Ah pink. I was vehemently opposed to it all my growing up years in my attempt to fit in my skin as a girl-with-three-brothers. But I’m coming around slowly. I recently purchased a purple shirt, for that matter. But I have to say, I admire T’s natural artless purple tutu-wearing. She looks beautiful and graceful.

Leave a Reply

