Update

Visited mom in the hospital.  She is doing really well!  She might be home on the weekend.

It has been really nice to see family.  S-i-l just had a baby and has so much energy.  I can’t relate, but they are fun to be around!

Without Christian podcasts blaring from the computer, I assumed this visit would have less dogmatic confrontation than previous visits.  My mom and littlest brother are the ones who love to argue and preach (besides me of course) while everyone else prefers non-confrontational avoidance when differences arise.

The first 3 books we came to out in the living room for all to see, were on ‘Christian’ gender roles.  Including the stereotype that real men only think about sex and that real women couldn’t care less about it but only want deep talks and cuddles.  ?

The computer’s homepage pulled up an article discussing how masculinity is shown in media.  Which would be interesting as a topic, except that this article’s view was that anything that didn’t show a benevolent macho dictator was distorting god-given masculinity.

The bible study I picked up by the night table claimed that most women really wanted to submit to a godly male and that it really was possible for these same women to share their opinions without usurping authority.  I’m sorry.  If a man feels his autonomy and purpose in life is threatened by a woman having and sharing an opinion, he has no right to any sort of ethical leadership.

I believe in freedom of speech, but part of me would like to move such restrictive harmful ideas into another place somewhat less visible.  Like the garbage can.

5 thoughts on “Update

  1. Ahab says:

    I’m glad your mother is doing well. Keep us posted.

    Those gender roles sound like a recipe for resentment and frustration!

    • prairienymph says:

      I know it seems petty to complain about gender role stuff. I thought that I just noticed it because I have a sensitive personality or something, but it was really all over and inescapable. My husband noticed most of it. The frustrating thing for me is that I found myself trying to fit the role of 50s housewife. With my mom gone, someone had to.

  2. Something is a little wrong if you need 3 books to tell you what should be natural and designed by the benevolent Creator, right? 😉

    Glad to hear everything’s going well! Kudos for playing Mrs. Cleaver. 🙂 It’s silly as a defined role. But in this case, you saw a need and you fulfilled that need for the greater good of your family. That’s commendable, even if the underlying principles are a bit messed up.

    • prairienymph says:

      🙂 It wasn’t the actions I was objecting to. Doing dishes and cooking should never be looked down on. It was the attitude I so easily slipped into that bothered me. The feeling that I needed to ask permission before buying anything or before cooking anything. The feeling of guilt when my dad or brothers helped clean up. I’m not sure where that comes from except trying to fill my mom’s idea of what she should do which probably comes from those books (it was more like 30 of them).

  3. ... Zoe ~ says:

    Glad to hear your mom is doing better.

Leave a Reply

