Wedded Remorse

My four year old is dancing around to Tchaikovsky’s Sleeping Beauty Ballet.  She in acting out dancing in the woods with friends, being chased by the bad fairy, and marrying the prince.

The prince’s name is “Gallopsy” (her imaginary horse friend’s name).

Now she is upset and crying, “I don’t want to be married!”

“You don’t have to be,” I reply.

“But I already had the wedding!” she says sadly.

“How about you get a divorce, then.” I say absent-mindedly.

“A remorse? Whats that?”

“Di-vorce.  You get married in a wedding, you get unmarried with a divorce.” I continue with supper and then realize what I’m saying.

She has now been married and divorced 3 times. 

Well, if my 4 year old doesn’t want to be married, she doesn’t have to be!  Now, if I could only get her to stop getting married in the first place… 

My mother would be horrified.

6 thoughts on “Wedded Remorse

  1. Macha says:

    OMG that’s so awesome, I have no words. “My mother would be horrified.” LOL

  2. Quester says:

    Oh, applause. That’s hilarious!

  3. “She has now been married and divorced 3 times.”

    A 4YO who is encouraged by her mother to be assertive about finding and seizing what she really wants. How lovely. My mother *is* horrified … she made the mistake of reading my blog.

  4. JZ says:

    Love this! You don’t HAVE to stay married and better to learn it when you’re four and not when you’re forty.

  5. Ahab says:

    “She has now been married and divorced 3 times.”

    My! Sounds like Liz Taylor. Or Donald Trump.

  6. prairienymph says:

    I am worried that she likes having weddings so much. That could get expensive :p

Leave a Reply

