Bible Study Temptation

During the summer we left Christianity.  But we haven’t left our bible study group yet.  When we started up in the fall it was an informal ‘lets do life together’  meeting – sharing a meal.  Which was great!  Nice food, nice people and lots of kids who felt it their duty to entertain and prevent deep conversations.

Now, there are rumblings of discontent.  When I arrived this week we were led into a study of Jesus’ life.  Which will be the theme for the next several months.  Everyone is encouraged to take a turn facilitating a study/discussion on an aspect of Jesus’ life.

Next time the pastor is doing a story on the advent.  I can’t go to that one.

I am severely tempted to volunteer for the one after.  Tempted just like I used to want to throw baggies of pudding from church balconies.  (Ok, I still do – pudding bombs would make such a great splash!)

I am thinking of piecing together different aspects of Jesus’ life that I never liked.  Shriveling up the fig tree.  Temper tantrum at the temple.  Healing a few sick people but not telling anyone about germs (assuming he was god, he ought to have done a little more.)  I’d love to ask why these things are good and if anyone else had done them, would they still be good?  Should we start cursing trees during winter?

I know that we’ll have to stop going.  I had hoped we could just quietly fade away, but one of the advantages of a tight-knit community is that they constantly check up on you.  I am still waiting for an opportunity to discuss things privately without a huge “guess what!  I now reject many of the very beliefs that you base your life and livelihood on” announcement.

Would it be terribly unethical for a former-fundy to lead a bible study to a group of people who believe Adam and Eve were real people?

6 thoughts on “Bible Study Temptation

  1. Quester says:

    If you were getting paid to present a particular view, or trusted by parents to present a particular view to children, I might see an ethical concern regarding presenting other views. On the other hand, disagreeing with adults and presenting them with different perspectives is something I have a hard time seeing as unethical.

    • prairienymph says:

      So, it wouldn’t be unethical, just uncomfortable. The group contains the pastor and children’s pastor, so it’s hardly a vulnerable group. Are there any aspects of Jesus of the gospels that you find challenging to a conventional Christianity?

  2. Quester says:

    I wrote this rant ( http://de-conversion.com/2009/12/27/wwjd-series-jesus-thoughtcrime-and-eternal-anguish/ ) a little over a year after deconverting. I don’t know if conventional Christianity would find it challenging, but it angers me.

  3. Actually, Adam and Eve were real people. Y-Chromosome Adam and Mitochondrial Eve lived somewhere between 50,000 and 150,000 years ago. They most likely never met and there even may have been 50,000 years between them. Your dad has some really interesting books on those subjects if you haven’t read them. He may be able to explain this Adam and Eve in fewer words than me, I tend to be long winded on such things.

    Also have you read Bart D Ehrman’s stuff eg Misquoting Jesus, Jesus Interrupted, Lost Scriptures and more. I have read the first one but not the others yet, they are on my list.

    • prairienymph says:

      Haven’t read those books. But I will add them to the (ever expanding) list. And I know Dad was doing a PP presentation on M. Eve, but I haven’t seen that yet either.

      My husband was already pushing the limits when he lead a bible study on Noah and Gilgamesh. But, he does own the art of subtlety so no one was forced to think beyond their comfort zone.

Leave a Reply

