13 thoughts on “Safe Conversation Topics

  1. It isn’t easy. Add to that the fact they feed poisons to dairy cows and food has no nutritional value. He was my father. Conversations were difficult.

  2. Ahab says:

    Ignore them. Refuse to engage them on particularly controversial topics. This will save you a lot of frustration in the long run.

    • prairienymph says:

      Good advice- but not easy. I have inherited the contrary gene and it is really hard to let things pass.
      I listened to an hour of ‘conversation’ about how evil athiests and GLBT people and managed to remain silent (by drawing pictures of babies).
      I am afraid I’ll have to start watching hockey and bullriding to find something safe.

  3. theo(il)logical says:

    This is probably your most brilliant post to date!

  4. ain't for city gals says:

    Hi, After reading your previous posts I see we share the same opinions….organized religion or hypocrisy does not hold a place in my life anymore…and therefore I no longer have anything in common with my siblings….we still associate but the distance is there….and hard to have a conversation with them even when we are all in the same room….

  5. Snowbrush says:

    I would suggest that you run, but then I’ve been reading book after book on Nazis and neo-Nazis, and what I’ve learned is that many of them appear–my interpretation–to be sane in every way except when it comes to Jewish conspiracies. I think that a great many people are the same way in regard to other areas, and once they have shown themselves to be utterly incapable of thinking logically or calmly considering the evidence, there is little to no possibility of reaching them.

    • prairienymph says:

      I used to think it was more ‘spiritual’ (better) to bring every conversation back to God. And this worldview includes demons and therefore conspiracies.
      I don’t think I can run from the majority of my family and childhood friends. I do think the majority of illogic comes from ignorance. Some of it willful ignorance. Maybe that isn’t much different from the Nazis.

  6. atimetorend says:

    I sure don’t have an answer to that question.

    My experience is to push back a little, but not a lot. Say, promote *vaguely* liberal Christian theology in the face of fundy nonsense, but not in a confrontational way. Eventually the conversation becomes painful to the other person as well as me. Then we are on the same team in searching for conversation topics, whether they are academic aspects of religion we can agree upon, sports, food, etc.

    But the hockey and bullriding thing… I grew up in a rural area, my parents were outsiders. I learned to talk about hunting and guns and tractors despite having little actual involvement with either.

  7. atimetorend says:

    Oh, and I was always taught this in church too:
    I used to think it was more ‘spiritual’ (better) to bring every conversation back to God.

    Which does make it extra hard to be around people from that church, because I know they feel they should be doing that. I have to try to block it from my mind when conversing with them.

    • prairienymph says:

      True. I just finished a conversation with my father-i-l where he was trying to say that Canadians should leave Afghanistan because the bible prophesies war in that area and it will bring the end of the earth and Jesus’ return quicker.

      I changed the topic to Rememberance Day and the Dutch relatives who were part of the Underground Resistance. Score! (I don’t know if he caught the parallel or not.)

  8. Snowbrush says:

    “Which does make it extra hard to be around people from that church…”

    You could bring every conversation back to…I don’t know…what you want for supper might do.

  9. prairienymph says:

    Food! Yes. Thanks. I’ll just try and avoid it during the week of fasting and prayer.

Leave a Reply

