The End of Men- or Macho Fearmongering?

I used to read a webzine called Boundless from Focus on the Family quite faithfully.   Now it makes me feel sick.

I am staying at my parents house for a few days and the default browser is Boundless.  I got sucked in and read an article by Dr. Alfred Mohler called “The End of Men”.  Basically, he cites a few statistics such as 45% of law students are women and 1/3 medical students are as well.  He mentions that most of the jobs lost in this recession in the states belonged to men.

Then he goes on about how this is translating into a matriarchal world.  This means that men are not needed and manhood is fading from our culture.  What!  The fact that 1/3 of future doctors are probably female is supposed to be a direct attack on men?  The fact that men are not lining up to take jobs working in a nursing home or other types of work less affected by an economic downturn is the work of dastardly feminists?

He states that the bible supports the role for men is the breadwinner.  No verses are cited. 

If this is his definition of manhood, I feel sorry for him.  The fact that he is propagating his views to an audience of young adults trying to navigate between careers and family is scary.

I was in that camp a few years ago.  I have a few years of college but no degree.  I have two small children.  If something happens to my husband I have few skills from which to earn enough money to keep our house.  According to Mohler, this is ideal.  According to logic, this is risky. 

I see the tensions in marriages of people who subscribe to these narrow definitions of manhood and womanhood.  Men who feel like they cannot measure up because they aren’t ‘good leaders’ and women who try to stifle their own gifts in order to be ‘submissive’.  I see how it hurts marriages and will have to rant on this later.

But really, why is it so threatening to some men that some women have certain types of jobs?  It sounds too much like terrorists throwing acid on girls for going to school.

Men are worth more than their pay cheque!

Women should not stifle themselves so that insecure people don’t feel threatened.

And I need to stop reading those articles.

3 thoughts on “The End of Men- or Macho Fearmongering?

  1. Jay says:

    Al Mohler. Piece of work, that one. I live in Louisville, KY, where, Mohler is President of the Southern Baptist Theological Seminary. Consequently, I’m no stranger to his angry, fear-based pronouncements.

    Al is a sad, sad little man.

  2. Zoe says:

    Sorry you read the article. I’ve done the same thing as well. Time to barf.

    I wanted to mention that it’s not just terrorists who throw acid. Actually, it’s not likely them at all as they are out blowing themselves and their targets to bits. We forget that it’s ordinary men in a clan, tribe, culture &/or religion. A dad, a brother, an uncle, a cousin; if the woman brings dishonour, she’s a goner.

    But you are right in my estimation that what Mohler, Dobson and others do isn’t unlike the acid throwing. They’d even tell you we were nuts for making the association. The thing is, what they do is this constant, unrelenting subtle manipulation and control, and though they never actually throw the acid, they cause severe and often permanent scarring of the person as a whole.

    And yes, we shouldn’t stifle ourselves in order to make those insecure men feel better. That’s why maybe we should read those article and write about them afterall. :mrgreen:

  3. soffiasoul says:

    “Then he goes on about how this is translating into a matriarchal world. This means that men are not needed and manhood is fading from our culture. What! The fact that 1/3 of future doctors are probably female is supposed to be a direct attack on men? ”

    I just linked to a great article in response to this kind of thinking on my blog. It points out that the gains women have made in the workplace are more of a catching up than a taking over. I am detoxing from fundamentalism and “christian womanhood”. It sounds like we have a lot in common!

    “I see the tensions in marriages of people who subscribe to these narrow definitions of manhood and womanhood. Men who feel like they cannot measure up because they aren’t ‘good leaders’ and women who try to stifle their own gifts in order to be ‘submissive’. I see how it hurts marriages and will have to rant on this later.”

    Yes! I have seen this over and over again. Can’t wait to read your rant!

Leave a Reply

